Thank God It’s Thursday (TGIT)

I know, I know…it’s really supposed to be TGIF, but if you ask me Thursday’s are my favorite day of the week (well Thursday’s AFTER school that is). Why you may ask (or not….)? It’s because by Friday after school, I feel like 1/3 of my weekend is already over. On Thursday, you’re over Hump Day, and there’s this big anticipation for the weekend that has yet to begin. I feel like the sheer excitement and knowledge that tomorrow begins the weekend makes Thursday the best day of the week (you are of course entitled to you own opinion and I realize many may not share this same view). Of course…it doesn’t hurt that the Master’s program I’m in has off on Fridays (yeah, I know that does MAKE a big difference…3 DAY WEEKEND!). Don’t worry though, I have enough homework to make up for that off day. Let’s just say, my weekends aren’t the most relaxing. But enough about Thursdays.

FullSizeRender

Egg White Oatmeal with Almond Butter, Raisins, Goji Berries, and Almonds

So today started bright and early with a big ‘ol bowl of Egg White Oatmeal…as you may have noticed I’m not one of those people who will make my meals look perfect for the blog. It’s food, not art…I’m just gonna eat it anyways.

A perfect start to such a cold and dreary day. It’s official, winter is coming. Today the high’s were in the 40’s for the first time here. It was COLD…well, compared to previous weather we’ve been having. Don’t get me wrong though, I’m not complaining. I actually kind of like the cold…for awhile.

IMG_0848

Anyways, after breakfast I headed to the gym for a short 5 mile run! So refreshing. Whilst running, I was entertained by That 70’s Show. Ever heard of it? It’s a good show if you want a laugh…Ashton Kutcher’s in it. One of the reasons I like it so much is that the setting is in Wisconsin. Since my dad was from Wisconsin, I love the Packers and the Cheese Heads (yes, I actually have a cheese head..maybe I’ll show it to you sometime).

Besides that, I’m sad to say that the rest of my day was not that exciting. After classes I went to the Library (because I’m a book nerd) and Micheal’s to get supplies for the Poster Session, where I have to defend my Master’s Research Project (Fuuuunnnnnn……).

Now I think I’m gonna curl up on the couch, read one of my books/watch TV, and EAT! See ya later!

Microwave Egg White Oatmeal

Ingredients

** 1/2 cup quick cooking oats, 1 ripe banana, 1/2 cup milk of choice (I use almond milk), 3/4 cup liquid egg whites (I use carton egg white), 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon**

Directions:

Peel and mash the banana. Then stir the remaining ingredients in a medium-size bowl, with room at the top so the oats can expand in the microwave and not overflow…trust me it happens (I know from experience). Then, microwave on high for three minutes, stirring after 75 seconds and then again every 30 to 45 seconds until three minutes are up. Finally, top with your favorite toppings and enjoy. In the picture above, I used raisins, goji berries, almond butter, and almonds!

Leave a Reply

