Long Time, No Chat

Hey guys! Wow it’s been a long time since I’ve been on here. I am sorry I abandoned you guys (so maybe like 1 person?…or just me). I’ve been extremely busy, just trying to get my life together.

I graduated from my Master’s program over the summer and moved back home. For the summer..since teachers are off during the summer, I got a job at a Day Summer Camp. I loved hanging with the kiddos and really enjoyed that job! However, Fall started looming near and it was time for me to get serious and find a “grown-up,” preferably one that related to the money I spent trying to get my Masters in Teaching.

I am proud to say that I did indeed get a job related to my schooling! I am now officially an employee of a county and teach fourth grade in an elementary school. I teach math/science/social studies/health and then the students switch classes for reading/writing…so I essentially teach the same subjects/things twice throughout the day.

I love my kids but man does teaching require so much! I feel like teaching the students and writing lessons plans are second to collecting data and making sure I am doing everything “correctly” or how the county wants it. Teaching is so much  more than actually teaching and I have to worry about standards, tests, preparation, and SO SO SO MUCH data. I feel like school is more about the data and “seeing” progress than it is about the students and that is not why I fell in love with school or wanted to become a teacher. I just wish we could go back to the way it was when I was in school…when teachers could actually focus on teaching and had creativity and flexibility in their lessons and what they taught. Nowadays, I just feel like I am pushing my students to hard and that I have no extra days..always have to stay with the curriculum guide, cannot stray from the lesson plans. It’s just so confining.

To top it all off, as it is my first year…I get observed CONSTANTLY. It’s like they are trying to get me to quit. If it weren’t for my students and my love for working with children…I would seriously consider…I donno. I just wish there was something I could do to help make school more about the students and less about “making progress” or “pushing the students.” There is so much more going on in children’s lives that we could be working on and I don’t think that all my time is wisely spent just pushing the curriculum. School used to be more than textbooks and tests. It used to be about the individual students and just helping shape them into the person they will eventually become.

Don’t get me wrong. I love my job…I just wish there were things I could do to make it better.

Anyways…On to the Fitness and Food Front

Don’t worry! I didn’t forget about this. I now wake up EXTREMELY early to exercise (as I find it very important for my sanity) and I just yesterday ran in a Turkey Trot (sorry no pictures). I will get better with this and provide you with pictures on my next update. On the food front things are good…I could definitely still improve and need to try to push myself out of my comfort zone in order to try to really recover from my previous eating disorder…but on the whole I’m not too bad. I haven’t lost any weight, nor do I plan too and I am at a comfortable and good for my body height/type weight.

I am genuinely happy with my life right now and am really enjoying/savoring the little things.

Sorry about the lack of pictures in this post. As I get back into this, I will get better! I promise! I hope you guys had an amazing Thanksgiving and ate lots of delicious food! I know I sure did!!

This morning, instead of shopping I hit up the gym for a nice cardio/lifting session. Felt so good to sweat it off, especially after all the indulgent food yesterday…not that that is the reason I went. I loved starting Black Friday off like this instead of early bird shopping. No money was spent and I felt great afterwards 🙂

Well talk to you next time!!! Glad to be back 🙂 I plan to post twice or three times a week…not everyday as I am too busy for that, but I’d like to make this a more regular thing! Here’s to hoping!! Wish me good luck! Haha.

Leave a Reply

